Saturday , July 11 2020
Home / Local News / Race to replace Chibaya

Race to replace Chibaya


Silas Mutendeutswa.

Supporters of the feuding MDC-T led by Thokozani Khupe in Gweru are headed for a fresh clash over who will replace Mkoba Member of Parliament Amos Chibaya who was recalled from the house of assembly last week.
Jostling and lobbying has rushed its pick with candidates promising to bring real change to the constituency if selected by the Khupe led MDCT in the event by elections are held or the constitution is amended to abolish by-elections and allow political parties to choice replacements of their own choice.

Among the disgruntled losing candidates in the last internal party elections and are now said to be interested in replacing Chibaya is the former deputy mayor of Gweru, Obert Tachi Ncube, David Murerwa a former NRZ employee and Gweru City Council employee Silas Mutendeutswa.
Several other ambitious supporters are also eyeing to fill the posts of councilors in Gweru’s 18 wards, hoping on the rumored amendment of the constitution and recalling of the Josiah Makombe led council which is reportedly to be fully behind Nelson Chamisa.

When contacted for comment, Mutendeutswa said he is willing to take up the position of MP for Mkoba if the people’s will is respected and people supports his candidature.

“This whole issue is not about fighting each other, we are a big family which needs to sit down and resolve our difference as we were taught by the late founding father of MDC, Dr Morgan Tsvangirai. Our aims and objectives are the same, with one enemy and demands for democracy and rule of law in Zimbabwe,” said Mutendeutswa.

On Tuesday parliament expelled nine more MDC Alliance MPs following their recall from the house by reinstated MDC-T leader Thokozani Khupe.
Announcing their recall Tuesday, Speaker Jacob Mudenda said Amos Chibaya (Mkoba MP), Happymore Chidziva (Highfield), Murisi Zvidzai (Harare Central); Proportional Representative MPs Basilia Majaya, Mutarairwa Mugido, Virginia Muradzikwa, Anna Muyambo, Francesica Ncube and Nomathemba Ndlovu had all ceased to be legislators.
Mudenda said their seats were now vacant.

The latest expulsion brings to 13, the number of MDC Alliance MPs who have been recalled from the house after Charlton Hwende, Thabitha Khumalo, Prosper Mutseyami and Lilian Timveous were expelled last month.
However, majority of MDC Alliance members in Mkoba has dismissed the recalling of Chibaya from parliament as a non-event since there are going to vote for him once by-elections are held.

“It is sad that Khupe and Mwodzora are not following MDC constitution which demands that a national council resolution must made before recalling MPs from parliament. Only three people are deciding for the council and that will not respected by the 2,6million people who voted for Chamisa and the Alliance candidates,” said Mark Nyadoro.

About admin

Check Also

Covid 19 public rescue funds now available

By Martin Mawaya Gweru based finance company Tintrue Finance Pvt Ltd has come to the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *