‘We are simply the Best’ -

‘We are simply the Best’

Gweru -The Sun Newspaper won first prize in the Midlands Media Award’s (MMA) inaugural Best Community Newspaper of the Year, with the Kwekwe based Midlands News coming second in the contest last Friday night.

Guest of Honour Hon Larry Mavima (Left) at the MM Awards presenting the Outstanding Community Newspaper of the Year award to The Sun team (Right) Unki Mines Human Resources Manager Frank Banda handing over the Trophy

The Midlands Media Awards (MMA) ceremony marks the beginning of a historical journey in recognizing media and journalistic works in the southern parts of the country as a way of encouraging journalists to improve their quality of news.

Minister of State for Midlands Provincial Affairs and Devolution, Senator Larry Mavima who was guest of honour at the event held at the state of the art Changamire Conference Center at the Village Lodge, praised journalists in the province for coming up with an initiative that is in line with government’s policy on devolution.

He urged the media to promote developmental initiatives like the National Development Strategy 1(NDS1) in rebuilding the economy.
“As we acknowledge the pivotal role which the media plays in our community, we also call upon the fraternity to continue promoting the national vision of making the country an upper-middle-income economy by 2030 through embracing developmental initiatives such as the NDS1.”

“More so, as the media fraternity continues to be a vehicle of information dissemination, I, therefore, urge the media practitioners to educate our community on the dangers of the Covid-19 pandemic because we are not yet safe and out of danger. We call upon for constant dissemination of information on the importance of being vaccinated because we need to be protected,” he added.
Some of Gweru’s outstanding journalists who were honored include freelancer Delicious Mathuthu who scooped two awards being, the runner-up for the Municipal reporter of the year, as well as the Crime and Courts reporter of the year.

Terry Madyauta of Newsday was honoured as the Sports Reporter of the year, Stephen Chadenga from Newsday again won the Political and Investigative Reporter of the year award.
The firebrand regional publication, The Sun was awarded top honors for being the Best newspaper of the year.
Speaking on the sideline, one of the winners, Thelma Wandayi said it is amazing to be among journalists who scooped awards considering how the industry is male-dominated.
“Am very happy to be among the winners of the 2021 MMA because it’s also good for me and my fellow female colleagues to set the pace in a male-dominated industry. I strongly encourage female journalists to come on board so that we can tell our stories as they are and it’s high time women are empowered to make a change.

“It was quite a remarkable moment for me as it brought about recognition on the efforts and hard work I exhibited in informing the community. I call upon the organizers of the MMA to make it an ongoing culture so that we can continue to honor journalists and the media fraternity,” said Wandayi.
MMA chairperson, Wilie Mponda said the award ceremony was held to recognize journalistic excellence in the provinces.

“The Awards ceremony marks the beginning of an annual event which we will be hosting around the province. Tonight’s Award ceremony is being held to recognize journalists and media houses who have made an immense contribution to our communities by giving information that was considered the best by the four independent adjudicators.

“The independent adjudicators were Dr Lyton Ncube, Senior media lecturer at MSU, Dr Oswelled Ureke, Abigal Gamanya- director of Southern Africa Gender Connect, and Professor Kudzai Bare.
“The event is not just to celebrate the achievements of our journalists, but also to give due regard to our media ethics and best practices required by our news consumers,” added Mponda.
He further expressed gratitude to various institutions and the business community in the province for making the event a success

“Over the years, most of our agenda programmes and meetings rely heavily on funding from media organizations based in Harare, I’m glad to say all resources sourced for the event came from the Midlands province.
“Our road to this day was not an easy one as we faced a lot of challenges internally and externally,” he added.

Some of the winners are as follows:

Patrick Chitumba
Mining reporter of the year

Emmanuel Mhike
Arts &entertainment reporter of the year

Delicious Mathuthu
Municipal reporter of the year

Michael Magoronga-
Business writer of the year

Locadia Mavhudzi
Environmental reporter of the year

Delicious Mathuthu
Crime and courts reporter of the year

Elizabeth Mashiri-
Health reporter of the year

Thelma wandayi
Crime and Courts runner up.

Micheal Magoronga
Business reporter of the year

Ndanatswa Tagwirei-
Mining reporting runner up.

Locadia Mabvudzi
Rural reporting runner up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *